Morten Falk Jørgensen

 

My name is Morten Falk Jørgensen. I am 34, married, and have two children aged 2 and 6. My regular job is as a Private Banker with Nykredit Private Banking.

I am a former rower and have been a member of the Gold Four (Guldfireren) since 2008. I started rowing in 2000, when I was 15, and joined the national team in 2004. During my time in rowing I achieved the following results:

Olympic gold in 2008, bronze in 2012 and silver in 2016. This means I am one of only six Danes in history to have one of each medal in the same discipline.

World champion in 2013 and 2014

European champion in 2013 and 2014

I hold a world record for the lightweight four (Guldfireren) in the 2014 semi-finals of the World championships.

I was the Danish single sculler champion in 2008 and 2009

In 2008 I was awarded Denmark’s oldest sports prize, Årets Fund – the discovery of the year.

After the 2016 Olympics I decided to take a break from rowing to consider whether I would give the 2020 Olympics a chance. At first I did triathlon to keep in form, if I should go back to rowing. 

I knew from my time in rowing that I had built up a physical capacity and approach to training that would really take me a long way. Even though I don’t train more than 10-14 hours a week, I can still join in at the top of my Age Group. My approach to training, and the fact that you can sometimes push yourself a bit further than you think, are probably what enable me to achieve the results I have achieved. I also believe that if you do your homework properly, you can probably succeed and achieve the goals you have set.

I was going to take part in the 2017 Copenhagen IM, but had to drop out two days before the event because of a runner’s knee. So the stakes were high in Copenhagen in 2018. I would say that Copenhagen 2018 was my best performance in triathlon.

It was my first Ironman, which I completed with a time of 8:32.16. It was a trifle faster than I had expected myself, since I was expecting to manage about 8:40-8:45.

The cycling is quite clearly my strongest side. I did 4:24 in Copenhagen without feeling pressed. 

After that, Kona was not a success as far as I was concerned. Even though all my training showed that I was stronger than in Copenhagen, I did not manage to exploit my full potential. I let myself get carried away too much by the atmosphere, which meant I did not relax enough in the time up to the day itself.

All the results I have achieved have meant something particular. What I find interesting with each result is the process. The fact that it is possible to work passionately at something and develop in different areas really means a lot to me.

I have started collaboration with Fusion, which I am extremely pleased about. For me, quality and the little details are extremely important. With the feeling that Fusion sportswear is simply top class, and their approach to the details, I know that they have done everything to ensure the clothes are the best on the market.

What other sponsors do you have and how do they help you become a better athlete? 

United Cycling (Argon 18) – I ride an Argon 18 E-119tri+, which is their top model. I have a fine relationship with United Cycling, and we regularly discuss possible minor improvements to optimise the cycle. My collaboration with them also means that I can get hold of the best material. 

CeramicSpeed – I have CeramicSpeed equipment on my cycle, because it makes a difference, and then more of my strength goes on speed. 

Copenhagen Bikefit – Tore has helped me a lot with my position on the cycle, so that I can sit aerodynamically, but also aggressively, which I like.

Purepower – I use Purepower for my daily training, so I am sure of reaping the optimum benefit from my training by getting the necessary energy on my way. 

 

Birthday: 

23 June 1985